Graduate Students

Graduate Students

PSLA Graduate Students

Landscape Architecture & Community Planning

  Contact Information Research Focus
Filler Picture

 

Maria Jose Espinoza

mespino1@umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

 

Kristina Satterlee

ksatterl@umd.edu

 
Bridget Stokes

 

Bridget Stokes

bstokes1@umd.edu

 
Sebastian Velez-Lopez

 

Sebastian Velez-Lopez

svelezlo@terpmail.umd.edu

 
Matthew Rausch

 

Matthew Rausch

mgrausch@umd.edu

  • Researching L/A design efforts that employ the principles of street design, specifically principles of the Complete Streets efforts, EPA Green and Sustainable Streets program, and the Main Street USA program (State and National levels)
  • Investigating how these street design approaches can be applied to small rural towns in America where there are efforts to revitalize the community 

 

Landscape Architecture

  Contact Information Areas of Interest
Filler Picture

 

Caroline Evans

cevans14@umd.edu

 
Audrey Fann

 

Audrey Fann

afann@umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

 

Lauren Gray

lgray12@umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

 

Alison Jones

alijones@umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

 

Jonathan Mallory

jmallory@umd.edu

 
Bryn Martin

 

Bryn Martin

martinb6@umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

 

Kelsey Ann Moody

kmoody@umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

 

Emma Podietz

epodietz@terpmail.umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

 

Afrouz Rahmati

arahmati@umd.edu

  • Therapeutics & Healing gardens
  • Botanical gardens and the their role in urban environments
Filler Picture

 

Xiaojin Ren

rxj22119@umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

 

Sherry Russell

slr2020@umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

 

Christopher Salzano

csalzan@umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

 

Christopher Samoray

samorayc@umd.edu

  • Experienced science writer
  • Design interests relate to climate change, particularly in the context of ecological conservation and coastal resilience efforts
Hannah Savio

Hannah Savio

hsavio@umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

 

Lucia Serra

lserra@umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

 

William Sullivan

wsulliv6@umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

 

Sarah Turner

sturner@terpmail.umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

 

Sarah Wallace

swallace@umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

 

Shane Wellnitz

swellnit@umd.edu

 
Filler Picture

 

Yuki Whitley

ywhitley@terpmail.umd.edu

  • land art
  • dark sky sites
  • solid waste materials processing and waste-to-energy systems
Filler Picture

 

Pamela Parker

pparker@umd.edu

 

 

 

Plant Science

  Contact Information  Research Focus
Belayneh Bruk

Belayneh Bruk

belayneh@umd.edu

Lea-Cox Lab

 
Humberto Castillo, PLSC Graduate Student

 

Humberto Castillo Gonzalez

humb15@umd.edu

Chaverri Lab

  • Examining the diversity of endophytic fungi from the Rubiaceae family.   
  • Studying key roles in driving plant responses against pathogens and/or for adaptation to difficult environments.
  • Understanding the role of plants in selecting lineages of fungi using secondary metabolites, how the communities are assembled, and what interactions take place. 
Bhavit Chhabra

 

Bhavit Chhabra

bchhabra@umd.edu

Rawat Lab

 
Scott Cosseboom 

 

Scott Cosseboom

scossebo@umd.edu

Hu Lab

  • Evaluating management methods against bunch grape diseases
  • Fungicide efficacy and sensitivity testing for pathogens of bunch grapes and small fruit
  • Observing pathogen species distribution and frequency in bunch grape and small fruit fields of the Mid-Atlantic
Filler Picture

 

Wesley Deaver

wdeaver@umd.edu

Micallef Lab

 
Habtamu Demissie

 

Habtamu Demissie

dhabtamu@umd.edu

Everts Lab

 
Sarah Do

 

Sara Do

sdo@terpmail.umd.edu

Johnson Lab

  • Urban ecology and plant traits in urban ecosystems
Joseph Doherty 

 

Joseph Doherty

jdohert3@umd.edu

Roberts Lab

 
Filler Picture

 

Christopher Frye

cfrye@umd.edu

Neel Lab

 
Filler Picture

 

Ian Howard

ihoward@umd.edu

Lea-Cox Lab

 
Filler Picture

 

Jake Jones

jgjones@umd.edu

Everts Lab

 
Filler Picture

 

Robert Korir

rkorir@umd.edu

Everts Lab

 
Bruce Levine 

 

Bruce Levine

levinebj@umd.edu

Xiao Lab

  • Exploration of the function of genes in the Chestnut blight fungus (Cryphonectria parasitica) suspected of playing a role in pathogenesis.
  • Study of highly-conserved fungal pathogenicity genes as possible targets for novel forms of disease resistance.
Xingchen Liu 

 

Xingchen Liu

rivilliu@umd.edu

Micallef Lab

 
Qiuchen Luo

Qiuchen Luo

qcluo@umd.edu

Hu Lab

 
Filler Picture

 

Alexander Mahlandt

amahland@umd.edu

Tiwari Lab

 
Aimee Malzahn

Aimee Malzahn

amalzahn@terpmail.umd.edu

Qi Lab

  • CRISPR-based genome engineering in dicot plants
Filler Picture

 

Lauren Elizabeth Marshall

lemarsh@umd.edu

Chanse Lab

 
Filler Picture

 

Jennifer Morash

jmorash@umd.edu

Lea-Cox Lab

 
Filler Picture

 

Changxu Pang 

cpang89@umd.edu

Murphy Lab

 
Boyoung Park

 

Boyoung Park

bpark513@terpmail.umd.edu

Kweon Lab

 
Filler Picture

 

Carrie Perkins

cperk@terpmail.umd.edu

Neel Lab

 
Cara Peterson

 

Cara Peterson

peterson.cara24@gmail.com

Tully Lab

  • researches integrating cover crops into no-till grain production
  • currently evaluating interseeding cover crop mixtures into double-crop soybeans as a method for increasing legume cover crop adoption in the mid-Atlantic
Bilian Qian

 

Bilian Qian 

bqian@umd.edu

Zhu Lab

 
Kabelo Segobye

 

Kabelo Segobye

ksegobye@umd.edu

Peer Lab

 
Adam Schoen

 

Adam Schoen

awschoen@terpmail.umd.edu

Tiwari Lab

  • Developing a pipeline for efficient gene discovery of agronomically important traits in hexaploid bread wheat using diploid wheat species as a model.
  • Reestablishing the University of Maryland's small grain breeding program using new technologies and speed breeding techniques in order to introduce new elite cultivars to growers.
Taylor Schulden

Taylor Schulden

tschulde@umd.edu 

Rawat/Erwin Lab

 
Lovepreet Singh, PLSC Graduate Student

 

Lovepreet Singh

lps1699@terpmail.umd.edu

Rawat Lab

  • Molecular basis of Fhb1 mediated resistance against Fusarium Head Blight in wheat
Filler Picture

 

Sultana Solaiman

sultanas@terpmail.umd.edu

Micallef Lab

 
Filler Picture

Simon Sretenovic

simonsre@terpmail.umd.edu

Qi Lab

 
James Steadham

 

James Steadham

jstea@umd.edu

Rawat Lab

  • Positional cloning of wheat rust resistance genes
Yvette Tamukong

 

Yvette Tamukong

tyb@terpmail.umd.edu

Culver Lab

 
Filler Picture

Resham Thapa

rthapa@umd.edu

Tully Lab

  • Conduct controlled lab-based incubation and field-based experiments to understand factors controlling cover crop decomposition and N release in no-till corn systems across the mid- and south-Atlantic USA states
  • Calibrating and validating CERES-N model to predict N release from surface-applied cover crop residues in no-till corn systems
Sydney Wallace

 

Sydney Wallace

swallac1@umd.edu

Rawat Lab

 
Filler Picture

Danielle Weissman 

dweissm1@terpmail.umd.edu

Tully Lab

 
Tiffany Wong-Stack

Tiffany Wong-Stack

wongt@ibbr.umd.edu

Sullivan Lab

  • Evaluating the physiological response to UV-B radiation in Populus variants
  • Targeted metabolomic analysis of secondary compounds using UPLC-TOF-MS 
  • Computational and bioinformatic analysis of SNPs in UVR8 locus of P. trichocarpa
  • Control of gene expression of plant photoreceptor, UVR8 using conventional and new gene editing tools
Filler Picture

Yuwei Xiao

ywxiao93@terpmail.umd.edu

Liu Lab

 

 

Marine Estuarine Environmental Sciences

MARINE ESTUARINE ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES

"Marine Estuarine Environmental Sciences (MEES) is an inter-institutional graduate program of the University System of Maryland whose mission is to educate students to become the scientific leaders and problem-solvers of the future. Using an interdisciplinary approach, we train students to engage in scientific discovery, integration, and application to generate new knowledge and to solve environmental problems.

The MEES Program is an inter-institutional, statewide graduate program within the University System of Maryland (USM). The program is composed of faculty from several of the USM's degree-granting universities and research institutions as well as experts from government, non-government agencies and other non-academic units." - MEES Graduate Program

  Contact Information Research Focus
Kaitlyn Wagner

 

Kaitlyn Wagner
Neel Lab

  • Conservation of genetic diversity
  • Role of phenotypic plasticity in the distribution of Vallisneria americana along salinity gradients
  • Selection of seed stock for restoration of V. americana

Molecular and Cell Biology

 MOLECULAR AND CELLULAR BIOLOGY

"The MOCB concentration area offers highly mentored graduate training with faculty interested in a broad spectrum of research focused on understanding the molecular nature of biology.  Our faculty members have expertise in state-of-the-art technologies, have national and international reputations, and publish in high impact journals.  MOCB-CA students receive a Core Curriculum that emphasizes knowledge in the areas of molecular genetics, nucleic acid biochemistry, cell biology, and structural biology.  In addition, a number of interdisciplinary research clusters are available focusing on host-pathogen interactions, plant systems, developmental biology, virology, genomics, biophysics, and more. The overall goal of the MOCB-CA is to provide our students with rigorous and comprehensive research training that will lead to a successful career in the biosciences." - Biological Sciences Graduate Program 

  Contact Information Research Focus
Filler Picture

Qiong Zhang
Xiao Lab

 

BEHAVIOR, ECOLOGY, EVOLUTION, AND SYSTEMATICS

 BEHAVIOR, ECOLOGY, EVOLUTION, AND SYSTEMATICS

"BEES consists of over 60 distinguished faculty  from ten departments in five Colleges at the University of Maryland, including adjuncts from several nearby research institutions, such as the Smithsonian Institution, United States Department of Agriculture, and the National Institutes of Health. Together these individuals have expertise in behavioral ecology, neuroethology, physiological ecology, community ecology, conservation biology, population ecology, evolutionary ecology, evolutionary development, quantitative genetics, population genetics, evolutionary genetics, molecular evolution, systematics, and functional genomics." - Biological Sciences Graduate Programs

  Contact Information Research Focus