Faculty

Faculty, Lecturers and Post Doctoral Associates

Our faculty members make up the Instructional Areas that include Plant Biology & Biotechnology, Sustainable Agricultural Production & Technology, as well as Landscape Architecture & Landscape Management. 

FACULTY

Please click on the faculty names below for more information. Names are listed alphabetically

  Contact Information Research Focus
Carol Allen

 

Carol Allen

Agent Associate in Food Safety

email: callen12@umd.edu | room: PLS 2125E | Phone: 301.405.4351

  • Optimizing water quality
  • Fruit and vegetable crop production to meet current food safety requirements
Dr. Andrew Baldwin

 

Dr. Andrew Baldwin

Affiliate Professor 

email: baldwin@umd.edu | ENST | phone: 301.405.7855

  • coastal and restored wetland ecosystems
  • Plant-microbe interactions in coastal wetlands, effects of plant species on bacterial, archaeal, and mycorrhizal communities
blank portrait

 

Benjamin Beale

Affiliate Principal Agent 

email: bbeale@umd.edu | St. Mary's County | phone: 301.475.4481

 

  • Southern Maryland Cluster
  • Agronomic Crop Production
  • Fruits & Vegetables Crops
  • Beginning Farmer
  • Herbicide Resistant Weed Management
Bryan Butler

 

Bryan Butler

Affiliate Principal Agent

email: bbutlers@umd.edu | UME- Carroll County | phone: 410.386.2760

  • Tree Fruits
  • Vegetables High Tunnels
  • Small Fruit
  • Hops and Barley

 

Mark Carroll

 

Dr. Mark Carroll

Associate Professor and Director, Environmental Science and Policy Program

email: mcarroll@umd.edu | room: PLS 2132 | Phone: 301.405.7782

 

  • Turfgrass
  • Water Quality
  • Nutrients
  • Pesticides
  • Runoff
  • Organic Lawn Care
Dr. Caren Chang

 

Dr. Caren Chang

Affiliate Professor

email: carenc@umd.edu | phone: 301.405.1643

  • ethylene hormone signaling
Dr. David Clement

 

Dr. David Clement

Affiliate Principal Agent, Home & Garden Information Center (HGIC)

email: clement@umd.edu | phone: 410.531.558

 

 

  • Plant Pathology
  • Ornamental IPM
  • Ornamental Diseases
  • Ornamental Disease Management
Diana Cochran

 

Dr. Diana Cochran

Assistant Clinical Professor

email: cochrand@umd.edu | room: PLS 2133 | Phone: 301.405.4336

  • Commercial crop production
  • Crop diversification
  • Relationship between plants and environmental variables
  • Sustainable in-season crop management practices
DR. Gary Coleman

Dr. Gary Coleman

Associate Professor

email: gcoleman@umd.edu | room: PLS 2128 | Phone: 301.405.4371

  • Tree growth and development
  • Nitrogen Storage
  • Bud Dormancy
  • Plant Adaptation
  • Nitrogen-use efficiency
Dr. James Culver

Dr. James Culver

Professor

email: jculver@umd.edu | room: PLS 6139 | phone: 301.405.2912

  • Virology
  • Nanotechnology

     

Allen Davis

 

Allen Davis

Affiliate Professor

email: apdavis@umd.edu | CEE | phone: 301.405.1958

 
Christopher Ellis

 

Dr. Christopher Ellis

Associate Professor, LARC Director & MLA Program Chair

email: cdellis@umd.edu | room: PLS 2144 | phone: 301.405.7782

  • Planning and design for sustainable land development
  • Landscape ecology & environmental perception
  • Information technology for landscape planning and design
  • Geographic modeling and analysis of built and natural systems
Dr. John Erwin

 

Dr. John Erwin

Professor and Chair

email: jerwin@umd.edu | room: PLS 2104 | phone: 301.405.4356

 
Kate Everts

 

Dr. Katheryne Everts

Professor & Director- Wye Research Center

email: keverts@umd.edu | phone: 410.742.8780 x305

  • Fusarium oxysporum f. sp. niveum
  • Sclerotinia sclerotiorum
  • Sustainable management of soilborne diseases
  • Vegetable disease forecasting for reducing fungicide use
  • Epidemiology of vegetable diseases
 Dr. Macarena Farcuh

 

Dr. Macarena Farcuh

Assistant Professor

email: mfarcuh@umd.edu | room:PLS 2116 phone:301.405.1323

  • Fruit quality
  • Fruit ripening
  • Postharvest physiology
  • Fruit biochemistry and molecular biology
  • Fruit safety
  • Fruit hormonal balance
blank portrait

 

Jose Feijo 

Affiliate Professor

email: jfeijo@umd.edu | CMNS | phone: 301.405.4906

 
Dr. Angela Ferelli

 

Dr. Angela Ferreli

Agent Associate

email: angfer@umd.edu | room: PLS 2126 | phone: 302.353.7159

 

 
Dr. Nicole Fiorellino

Dr. Nicole Fiorellino

Assistant Professor and Extension Specialist

email: nfiorell@umd.edu | room: PLS 2124 | phone: 301.405.6241

  • Adaptive nitrogen management
  • Alternative crops
  • Long-term phytoremediation of soils with high phosphorus concentrations
Dr. Mengjun Hu

Dr. Mengjun Hu

Assistant Professor

email: mjhu@umd.edu | room: PLS 2106 | phone: 301.405.5586

  • Plant Pathology
  • Grape and Small Fruit Disease
  • Fungicide Resistance and Its Mechanisms
Byoung-Suk Kweon

 

Dr. Byoung-Suk Kweon, PLA

Associate Professor

email: kweonb@umd.edu | room:  PLS 2140 | phone: 301.405.4341

  • Environmental behavior
  • Environment and health 
  • School and Children's Environment
  • Landscape Performance
  • Urban Agriculture
John Lea-Cox

 

Dr. John Lea-Cox

Professor

email: jlc@umd.edu | room: PLS 2120 | phone: 301.405.4323

Curriculum Vitae

  • Recycling of water
  • Green Roof Systems
  • Wireless sensor networks for resource management
  • Water-borne pathogen management
James Lewis

 

James Lewis

 Affiliate Senior Agent

email: jlewis2@umd.edu | UME-Caroline County | phone: 410.479.4030

  • Agronomy
  • Caroline County
  • Mid-Shore Cluster
Dr. Zhongchi Liu

 

Dr. Zhongchi Liu

Affiliate Professor

email: zliu@umd.edu | phone: 301.405.1586

  • Department of Cell Biology & Molecular Genetics
Dr. Shirley Micallef

Dr.Shirley Micallef

Associate Professor

email: smicall@umd.edu |room: PLS 2126 

phone: 301.405.4369

  • Food safety of fresh produce
  • Rhizosphere and phyllosphere bacterial interactions
  • Microbial ecology
  • Plant exudate biology
  • Environmental detection of human pathogens
Dr. Angus Murphy

Dr. Angus Murphy

Professor

email: asmurphy@umd.edu | room: PLS 5140 | phone: 301.405.7156

  • Auxin Transport
  • ABC Transporter
  • Phototropism
  • Membrane nano domains
  • Hormone/Herbicide crosstalk
Dr. David Myers

Dr. David Myers

Associate Professor

email: dnmyers@umd.edu | room:PLS 2146 |phone: 301.405.4350

  • Green Infrastructure
  • Ecological Design
  • Greenway design and planning
  • Residential environments
  • Conservation design and planning
Ronald Myers

 

Ronald Myers

Affiliate Principal Agent 

email: myersrd@umd.edu | Anne Arundel County | phone: 410.222.3906 

  • Fruits & Vegetables Crops
  • Agronomy Field Crops
  • Weed Science
  • Pesticide Use & Safety
  • No-Tillage Technology
  • Pasture & Hay Production
Dr. Maile Neel

Dr. Maile Neel

Professor

email: mneel@umd.edu | room: PLS 6117 |phone: 301.405.9780

  • Habitat Fragmentation and the Spatial Distribution of Biological Diversity
  • Endangered Species Recovery and Conservation
Dennis Nola

Mr. Dennis Nola, PLA, ASLA

Instructor, BLA Program Chair

email: dnola@umd.edu | room: PLS 2138 | phone: 301.405.0066

  • Urban agriculture and social justice of equitable urban revilatization
Mitch Pavao-Zuckerman

 

Mitch Pavao-Zuckerman

Affiliate Assistant Professor 

email: mpzucker@umd.edu | ENST | phone: 301.405.1178

  • Urban ecosystems, green infrastructure function, and ecosystem services
  • Social-ecological systems, ecosystem services, and ecological resilience
Dr. Wendy Peer

 

Dr. Wendy Peer

Affiliate Associate Professor

email: wapeer@umd.edu | ENST | phone: 301.405.5491

  • Auxin homeostasis
  • Flavonoid function
  • Plant growth regulators/invasive species
  • Metal-center proteins
Dr. Bill Phillips

 

Dr. Bill Phillips

Assistant Clinical Professor

email: billii@umd.edu | room: PLS 2131 | phone: 301.405.1061

 

  • interactions between agronomic crop plants and weeds
Dr. Naomi Sachs

 

Dr. Naomi Sachs

Assistant Professor

email: nsachs@umd.edu | room: PLS 2134 | phone: 301.405.1602

  • Application of the Healthcare Garden Evaluation Toolkit (H-GET) in healthcare and beyond
  • Design for Mental and Behavioral Health Environments
  • Correlations between Urban Greenspace and Violent Crime
  • Positive Nature Theory
Dr. Yiping Qi

Dr. Yiping Qi

Assistant Professor

email: yiping@umd.edu | room: PLS 5121 | phone: 301.405.7682

 

  • Plant genome engineering
  • CRISPR-Cas system
  • Novel breeding tools
  • Plant synthetic biology
  • Plant innate immunity

 

Dr. Karen Rane

 

Dr. Karen Rane

Director, Maryland Plant Diagnostic Lab

email:rane@umd.edu | room: PLS 3134  | phone: 301.405.1611

 

  • Plant Disease Diagnostics - all crops
  • National Plant Diagnostic Network
  • Diseases of woody and herbaceous ornamentals
  • Plant Diagnostic Laboratory

Nidhi Rawat

 

Dr. Nidhi Rawat

Assistant Professor

email: nidhirwt@umd.edu | room: PLS 2114 | phone: 301.405.9744

  • Molecular plant pathology
Dr. Andrew Ristvey

 

Dr. Andrew Ristvey

Affiliate Senior Agent 

email: aristvey@umd.edu | Wye Research Center | phone: 410.827.8056 x 113

  • Commercial Horticulture
  • Alternative Specialty Crops
  • Green Roof
  • Aronia
  • Wye REC
Jack Sullivan

Mr. Jack Sullivan, PLA, FASLA

Associate Professor

email: jack@umd.edu | room: PLS 2142 | phone: 301.405.0106

  • Sustainable Urban Landscapes
  • Healing Landscapes
  • Landscape and Garden History in England and Italy
  • Campus Design
Dr. Joseph Sullivan

Dr. Joseph Sullivan 

Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Programs

email: jsull@umd.edu | room: PLS 2122 | phone: 301-405-1626

  • Environmental Stress
  • UV-B Radiation
  • Global Climate Change
  • Ecosystem Services
  • Plant Physiological Ecology
Vijay Tiwari

 

Dr. Vijay Tiwari

Assistant Professor

email: vktiwari@umd.edu | room: PLS 2125J | phone: 401.405.1730

  • Genetics and genomics of small grain crops
 Dr. David Tilley

 

Dr. David Tilley

Affiliate Associate Professor 

email: dtilley@umd.edu | ENST | phone: 301.405.1306

  • Ecological Design & Engineering
  • Green Building Ecology & Design
  • Energy Analysis of Alternatives
  • Energy and Environmental Accounting
  • Wetland Radiometry & Health
Dr. Kate Tully

Dr. Katherine Tully

Assistant Professor

email:kltully@umd.edu | room: PLS 2108 | phone: 301.405.1469

Curriculum Vitae

  • Effects of sea-level rise and saltwater intrusion on nutrient dynamics in coastal farmlands
  • Cover crops for ecosystem services provisioning
  • Environmental impacts of the African Green Revolution
Christopher Walsh

 

Dr. Christopher Walsh

Professor

email: cswalsh@umd.edu | room: PLS 2118 | phone: 301.405.4351

  • Apple Maturity Assessments
  • Sustainable Fruit Production
  • Maryland Tree Architecture Project
  • Food Safety of fresh fruits and vegetables
Melissa Leiden Welsh

 

Dr. Melissa Leiden Welsh

Assistant Clinical Professor

email: drmwelsh@umd.edu | room: PLS 2130 |Phone: 301.405.6969

  • Agricultural & Extension Education

  • Teacher Preparation/ Mentoring

  • Learner Centered Teaching

  • Agricultural Literacy

  • Motivation 

  • Experiential Learning

 

Jason Wight

Assistant Research Scientist

email: jpwight@umd.edu | room: PLS 2102 | Phone: 301.405.4558

 
Shunyuan Xiao

 

Dr. Shunyuan Xiao

Professor

email: xiao@umd.edu | room: PLS 2102 |phone: 240.314.6480

  • Broad spectrum disease resistance
  • Plant-fungal interaction
  • Powdery mildew pathogenesis
Dr. Jianhua Zhu

Dr. Jianhua Zhu

Associate Professor, PLSC Graduate Program Chair

emailjhzhu@umd.edu | room: PLS 6123 | phone: 301.405.0920

  • Molecular mechanisms of plant abiotic stress responses
  • Gene regulation
  • Functional genomics
  • Epigenetics
     

 

LECTURER

  Contact Information Research Focus
Ann Anderson

Ann Anderson 

Lecturer with 20+ years of landscape architectural office practice specializing in graphic communication and planting design
email: aanders8@umd.edu 

  • Planting Design
  • Design Theory
Phillip Cho

 

Phillip Cho

Lecturer & University Landscape Architect, Project Manager at UMBC

email: pscho@umd.edu

  • Project Management
  • Landscape Construction
  • Campus Planning and Design
  • Senior/ Low-income Housing
Diana Cortez

 

Diana Cortez

Academic Advisor and Lecturer

email:dcortez@umd.edu | room: PLS 2139 | Phone: 301.405.4359 

  • Academic Advisor
  • PLSC251: Financial Applications for the Green Industry
Christiane Machado

Christine Machado

Lecturer (LARC120)

email: cmach15@umd.edu

  • Environment and health
  • Symbiotic relationship between landscape & architecture
  • Primary based research
Kelley Oklesson

Kelley Oklesson, LEED AP, CBLP, CPH, ASLA

Lecturer (LARC 151) & Principal Designer of Groundsmith Collective

email: koklesso@umd.edu

  • Public interest design
  • Resilient ecology
  • Increasing social cohesion
  • Winning hearts & minds
Blank portrait

 

Jessica Sanders

Lecturer (PLSC471) 

email: sandersj@umd.edu

 

 
Dr. Burkhard Schulz

 

Dr. Burkhard Schulz

Senior Lecturer

email: bschulz1@umd.edu | phone: 301.405.6244

  • Molecular genetics and physiology of plants using cutting edge technology and bioinformatics approaches to investigate plant architecture and acquired herbicide resistance in plants. 
  • Brassinosteroid biology in maize and its contribution to sex determination in plants
Jeff Server

Jeff Server, ASLA, LEED AP BD +C

Lecturer & Project Manager/Project Architect at Prism Design Collective
email: jserverj@gmail.com

  • Digital/analog workflows incorporating technology
  • Interdisciplinary design and practice
  • Urban design, with an emphasis on waste landscapes and sustainability
  • Land art and Earthworks
Dan Straub

Dan Straub, ASLA, APA, PLA, LEED AP

Lecturer (LARC321); Landscape Architect - DFB & PUSH Urban Design Studio
email: dstraub@umd.edu

  • Construction Documentation & Implementation
  • Urban Streetscapes & Tree Planting
  • Green Infrastructure
  • Urban Planning & Urban Design
James Westwater

James Westwater, Ph.D.

Lecturer (LARC489R,  LARC620, LARC689C) and visual artist

email: jamesw@umd.edu

  • Art + design
  • Land art
  • Conceptual art
  • Creative spaces
Caren Yglesias

Caren Yglesias, Ph.D., AIA, Affil. ASLA

Lecturer (LARC 263); Architect; author of the recent book, Desert Gardens of Steve Martino (Monacelli, 2018)
email: caren@umd.edu

  • History and theory of landscape architecture
  • Materials and methods of construction
  • Sustainable design

 

Post Doctoral

  Contact Information Research Focus
blank portrait

Dr. Victoria Ackroyd

Post-Doctoral Associate

email: vackroyd@umd.edu | phone: 240.595.2768

 
Dr. Mark Jenness

 

Dr. Mark Jenness

Post-doctoral Scholar

email: mjenness@umd.edu | room: PLS 5142 | phone: 301.405.6937

  • Plant growth and development
  • Mechanisms of auxin transport
  • Structure & function of ABC transporters
blank portrait

Dr. Brenda Kroft

Post-Doctoral Associate

email: bkroft@umd.edu | room: PLS 2126 | phone: 301.405.4369

 
blank portrait

 

Dr. Marina Lichtenwald

Post-Doctoral Associate

email: mlichten@umd.edu | phone: 301.405.4369

 
blank portrait

 

Dr. Magdalene Ngeve

Post-Doctoral Associate

email: mngeve@umd.edu | room: PLS 6117 | phone: 301.405.9780

  • Landscape genetics/genomics and phylogeography of Vallisneria americana

  • Genotyping by sequencing

  • Submerged aquatic vegetation and mangroves

blank portrait

 

Dr. Changtian Pan

Post-Doctoral Associate

email: ctpan@umd.edu | room: PLS 5118 | phone: 301.221.4662

 

 
Dr. Reuben Tayengwa

 

Dr. Reuben Tayengwa

Post-doctoral Scholar

email: reubent@umd.edu | Room: PLS 6138 | phone: 301.405.4363

  • Molecular characterization of glutamine sensing and seasonal nitrogen cycling in trees
blank portrait

 

Dr. Zhuangji Wang

Post-doctoral Scholar

email: zwang134@umd.edu | phone: 301.405.1469

 
Dr. Yingxiao Zhang

 

Dr. Yingxiao Zhang

Post-doctoral Scholar

email: zhangyx@umd.edu | room: PLS 5118 | phone: 301.405.7682