College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
Plant Science & Landscape Architecture

2017 Excellence in Multistate Research Award

Multistate Research Program Group

On November 12, James Atland (USDA-ARS), Tom Fernandez (Michigan State University), John Lea-Cox (University of Maryland), and Sarah White (Clemson University) will accept the 2017 Excellence in Multistate Research Award on behalf of a team of scientists from 21 land-grant universities working to help greenhouses and nurseries better manage their water use. Most greenhouse and nursery crops rely on irrigation, but the availability and quality of water for irrigation is decreasing, and droughts, pollution, competition for water resources, and concerns about environmental impacts are making it necessary for the industry to use water sustainably. All of the researchers participating in Multistate Research Project NC-1186: Water Management and Quality for Ornamental Crop Production and Health are being honored for their outstanding collaboration during the annual meeting of the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities.
The Experiment Station Section Excellence in Multistate Research Award is awarded annually by the Experiment Station Committee on Organization and Policy during the Awards Program to recognize scientists who are conducting exemplary multistate activities.
The 2017 award will be presented at the annual meeting of the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities on November 12 in Washington, D.C., by Jay Akridge, Chair of the Board on Agricultural Assembly Policy Board of Directors and Interim Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Diversity at Purdue University, and Sonny Ramaswamy, Director of the USDA National Institute of Food and Agriculture.

Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2018. Web Accessibility