College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
Plant Science & Landscape Architecture

Landscape Architecture and Studies Research

Complementing and strengthening the accredited professional Landscape Architecture programs, faculty and students are engaged in exploring strategies to increase the capacity of landscape architects, designers, and partners to solve environmental issues: urbanization, climate change, stormwater pollution, placelessness and others critical and emerging topics.   Evidenced based design and planning research grounded upon an ecological design process supports a systems approach to integrating abiotic, biotic and cultural factors in the built and non-built environment in artful place-based  design and planning processes.

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTURE RESEARCHERS 

adams

Victoria Chanse
Assistant Professor
vchanse@umd.edu

Dr. Andy Baldwin

Byoung-Suk Kweon
Assistant Professor
kweonb@umd.edu

gerry

Dennis Nola
Instructor
dnola@umd.edu

Reginal Harrell

Kelly Cook
Assistant Professor
kdc25@umd.edu

kangas

David Myers
Associate Professor
dnmyers@umd.edu

Stephany

Jack Sullivan
Associate Professor
jack@umd.edu

Reginal Harrell

Christopher Ellis
Associate Professor
cdellis@umd.edu

 

Environmental sustainability is vital for the conservation of our natural resources.  There are significant social and economic impacts associated with the mismanagement of these resources in urban and agricultural environments.   Plant science research programs are being conducted to develop management systems and  Best Management Practices for efficient resource utilization. Research teams investigate ways to redefine how urban and agricultural systems are developed and maintained.  Wireless sensor networks are an example of management and information systems that are being  developed to conserve water and to reduce nutrient runoff. These interdisciplinary research progrmencompass urban ecology planning and development, green roof technology, and water and nutrient management will collectively contribute to a sustainable environmental future. 

 

LANDSCAPE RESOURCE MANAGEMENT RESEARCHERS 

adams

Steven Cohan
Professor of Practice
scohan@umd.edu

Dr. Andy Baldwin

John Lea-Cox
Assistant Professor
jlc@umd.edu

Reginal Harrell

Lea Johnson
Assistant Professor
leaj@umd.edu

kangas

Andrew Ristvey
Senior Agent & Regional Extension Specialist
aristvey@umd.edu

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

The University of Maryland Turfgrass Research Program is committed to developing and promoting sustainable management practices that improve turf utility while also maximizing beneficial environmental impacts.  Many of us enjoy turfgrass that supports sporting and leisure activities while reducing noise, heat, glare and dust. However, turfgrasses  that are maintained in an environmentally-informed manner also reduce soil erosion  and silt runoff while increasing water infiltration,  ground water filtration, and CO2 sequestration.  Our goal at UMD is to research and advance integrated pest management strategies that reduce water, fertilizer and pesticide inputs while promoting healthy and environmentally beneficial turfgrass stands.

 TURF MANAGEMENT RESEARCHERS 

adams

Mark Carroll
Associate Professor
mcarroll@umd.edu

Dr. Andy Baldwin

Joseph Roberts
Assistant Professor
robertsj@umd.edu

gerry

Thomas Turner
Associate Professor
tturner@umd.edu

 

Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2017. Web Accessibility