College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
Plant Science & Landscape Architecture

Graduate Students

Programs: Landscape Architecture + CMPL | Landscape Architecture | Plant Science

Program: Landscape Architecture & Community Planning - LARC CMPL

Student Information:

 

Espinoza, Maria Jose

maespinoza312@gmail.com

Rausch, Matthew

mgrausch@umd.edu

  • Researching L/A design efforts that employ the principles of street design, specifically principles of the Complete Streets efforts, EPA Green and Sustainable Streets program, and the Main Street USA program (State and National levels)
  • Investigating how these street design approaches can be applied to small rural towns in America where there are efforts to revitalize the community

Program: Landscape Architecture - MLA

Student Information:

 

Collier, Nathan S

ncollier@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Dennis, Mark

mdennis2@g.umd.edu

 

Evans, Caroline

evans.carey@gmail.com

 

Ferguson, Katherine

kmferg@umd.edu

  • Educational landscapes 
  • Outdoor education
 

Fleming, Seth

sflemin@umd.edu

 

Jett, James 

jjett12@umd.edu

 

Jones, Alison

alijones@umd.edu

 

Mallory, Jonathan

jmallory@umd.edu

 

Parker, Pamela

pparker@umd.edu

 

Podietz, Emma

epodietz@umd.edu

 

Poole, Jason

cptjasonpoole@gmail.com

 

Rahmati, Afrouz

arahmati@umd.edu

  • Therapeutics & Healing gardens
  • Botanical gardens and the their roll in urban environments
 

Rausch, Matthew

mgrausch@umd.edu

 

Russell, Sherry

slr2020@terpmail.umd.edu

Samoray, Christopher

samorayc@umd.edu

  • Experienced science writer
  • Design interests relate to climate change, particularly in the context of ecological conservation and coastal resilience efforts
 

Shipley, Christopher

chrisshipleyrla@gmail.com

 

Simpson, Lotoia

lsimp7402@yahoo.com

 

Turner, Sarah

sturner@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Velez-Lopez, Sebastian

svelezlo@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Wallace, Sarah

sarah.h.wallace@gmail.com

 

 Wellnitz, Shane

 Shane.Wellnitz1@gmail.com

 

Whitley, Yuki

ywhitley@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Yi, Che-Wei

cheweiy3@gmail.com

 

Zerfas, Matthew 

mrzerfas@umd.edu

 

Zhang, Keren

kerenzkr@umd.edu


Program:  Plant Science - PLSC

Student Information:

 

Beckley, Cody

cbeckley@g.umd.edu

  • Research focus
 

Belayneh, Bruk E.

belayneh@g.umd.edu

 

Carr, Megan

mcarr123@umd.edu

 

Castillo Gonzalez, Humberto

humber198@hotmail.com

 

Chhabra, Bhavit

bchhabra@umd.edu

 

Cosseboom, Scott

scossebo@umd.edu

  • Evaluating management methods against bunch grape diseases
  • Fungicide efficacy and sensitivity testing for pathogens of bunch grapes and small fruit
  • Observing pathogen species distribution and frequency in bunch grape and small fruit fields of the Mid-Atlantic
 

Demissie, Habtamu

habtishbekele@gmail.com

 

Do, Sarah

sdo@terpmail.umd.edu

  • urban ecology and plant traits in urban ecosystems
 

Doherty, Joseph

jdohert3@umd.edu

  • Investigating methods for improved biological control of brown patch in home lawn turf
  • Evaluating impacts of fungicide and biocontrol applications on the rhizosphere microbiome of putting greens
 

Dossick, David

ddossick@umd.edu

Ferelli, Angela

angfer@g.umd.edu

  • Evaluating environmental fitness of multiple  S. enterica strains in Maryland irrigation water as well as transfer potential to tomatoes
  • Describing the effects of tomato nitric oxide release on Salmonella enterica strain fitness and tomato colonization
 

Frye, Christopher

chris.frye@maryland.gov

 

Gal-Edd, Shanie

shanie.galedd@gmail.com

 

Gaimaro, Joshua

JoshGaimaro@gmail.com

 

Harris, Chinchu

charr120@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Howard, Ian

ihoward@umd.edu

 

Jones, Jake

jgjones@umd.edu

 

Korir, Robert

rkorir@umd.edu

 

Levine, Bruce 

levinebj@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Li, Gen

ligenchn@gmail.com

 

Liu, Xingchen

rivilliu@umd.edu

 

Mahlandt, Alexander

amahland@umd.edu

 

Malzahn, Aimee

amalzahn@terpmail.umd.edu 

  • CRISPR-based genome engineering in dicot plants
 

Pang, Changxu

cpang89@umd.edu

 

Park, Boyoung

bpark513@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Perkins, Carrie, NSF GRFP Fellow

cperk@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Peterson, Cara

cmpeters@umd.edu

 

Pritchard, Candace

cpritch@umd.edu

 

Qian, Bilian

bqian@umd.edu

 

Segobye, Kabelo

ksegobye@umd.edu

Singh, Lovepreet

lps1699@terpmail.umd.edu

  • Molecular basis of Fhb1 mediated resistance against Fusarium Head Blight in wheat
 

Solaiman, Sultana

sultanas@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Sonti, Nancy

nsonti@umd.edu

 

Sretenovic, Simon

simonsre@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Steadham, James

jstea@umd.edu

  • Positional cloning of wheat rust resistance genes
 

Tamukong, Yvette

tyb@terpmail.umd.edu

 

Thapa, Resham

reshambt1@gmail.com

  • Conduct controlled lab-based incubation and field-based experiments to understand factors controlling cover crop decomposition and N release in no-till corn systems across the mid- and south-Atlantic USA states
  • Calibrating and validating CERES-N model to predict N release from surface-applied cover crop residues in no-till corn systems
 

Trouth, Frances

frances.trouth@ars.usda.gov

 

Weissman, Danielle S

d.s.weissman@gmail.com

 

Whitehead, Ross

Rwhiteheadnj@gmail.com

 

Wong-Stack, Tiffany

wongt@ibbr.umd.edu

 

Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2018. Web Accessibility